How to Calculate Overtime Pay
Orlando Overtime Attorneys Fighting for Fair Pay
If your employer has unlawfully failed to pay you overtime, you may be entitled to damages that include back pay, liquidated damages (double the amount of wages owed), attorney's fees, and costs.
The experienced Orlando overtime attorneys at The Trial Professionals P.A. can help you determine how much you should have been paid compared to how much you were actually paid. We are well-versed on state and federal labor standards legislation. When combined with our aggressive approach to ligating unpaid overtime claims, it can make a valuable difference in the outcome of your case.
Call (855) 375-9959 to set up a consultation with our team.
You should be compensated at a rate of time-and-a-half for every hour you worked over 40 in a single workweek. (For example, if you worked 50 hours in one workweek and your regular rate is $12 per hour, you should receive $180 ($18 per overtime hour) in overtime pay for that week.
Key differences between Florida law and federal law regarding overtime pay:
- Under the Florida constitution, Florida employees and ex-employees may file a lawsuit four years or, in the case of a willful violation, five years after the employer committed the wage violation. Under the federal FLSA, an employee has only two years, or three years for willful violations, to file a lawsuit.
- Under federal law, the time period for which you may sue your employer for unpaid wages is two years, but in some cases you may be able to obtain unpaid wages from up to three years ago. In some cases, under Florida labor laws, you may be able to file a lawsuit for unpaid wages for up to five years ago.
Think you may qualify for overtime pay and would like to properly calculate your claim? The Trial Professionals P.A. can walk you through the process.
Let us evaluate your case in a free evaluation today! Call our Orlando overtime lawyers at (855) 375-9959.