Frequently Asked Questions About Florida Motorcycle Accidents
What are the Florida motorcycle licensing requirements?
Florida requires anyone riding a motorcycle to have a motorcycle endorsement on his or her regular driver’s license or motorcycle-only license. To be eligible for a motorcycle endorsement you must be at least 16 years of age, you must have no traffic convictions for 1 year if you are under 18 years old, you must have at least a regular class E driver’s license, and you must complete the Basic Rider Course. Out-of-state licenses that are current and already have a motorcycle endorsement are valid in Florida and do not require additional tests to get the endorsement on a new Florida driver’s license.
Do I need to ride with a helmet?
In order to legally ride a motorcycle in Florida without a helmet, the rider must be 21 years of age and be covered by an insurance policy providing at least $10,000 in medical benefits for injuries incurred while riding a motorcycle. Personal Injury Protection insurance, or PIP, which is mandatory for Florida automobile owners, is not available for owners of motorcycles. If you have PIP insurance for your automobile it does not satisfy the $10,000 insurance requirement for riding without a helmet. In order to ride without a helmet you must have some other $10,000 medical payment insurance or healthcare coverage that does not exclude injuries incurred as a result of a motor vehicle accident.
Do I need to wear protective eyewear?
Florida law requires anyone operating a motorcycle to wear an eye protective device over his or her eyes.
When must motorcycle headlights be turned on?
Any person operating a motorcycle must have the headlight(s) turned on at all times—including daylight hours—while the motorcycle is being driven on public streets or highways.
What are the laws for operating motorcycles on roadways designated for traffic?
All motorcycles are entitled to full use of a lane, and no motor vehicle is permitted to be driven in a manner to deprive a motorcycle to full use of a lane. Two motorcycles, however, are permitted to travel two-abreast in a single lane. A motorcycle operator is not permitted to pass a vehicle in the same lane the vehicle is occupying, nor may a motorcycle operator legally ride between lanes of traffic or between adjacent lines or rows of vehicles. This is what is commonly referred to as lane splitting.
Is there a limit to handlebar height in Florida?
Yes, under Florida law motorcycle handlebars may be no higher than the top of the shoulders of the operator when seated upon the motorcycle.
Can I wear headphones while I ride?
Florida law does not permit a person to operate a vehicle while wearing a headset, headphones, or other listening device unless it is a hearing aid. A person may, however, use a headset in conjunction with a cellphone or other device if it only provides sound through one ear and allows surrounding sounds to be heard with the other ear.
Get The Help You Need After a Motorcycle Accident in Florida
Have further questions? Contact Trial Pro at 800-874-2577.